Data in the Cloud? Not For Me…

As I was cheerfully driving into work and auditorily inhaling my daily dose of .NET Rocks, I heard a rather compelling discussion between Scott Cate and Carl Franklin/Richard Campbell.

Entry page for Shoope

The site mentioned in the podcast was called Shoope, which I have to say is kind of a stupid name.  Partially, I may be thinking that name sucks because of an annoying little catchy phrase I can’t get out of my head.  Since I have tried to register for the beta unsuccessfully about 10 times over a span of 10 hours to try out the mystical data store, my mind keeps heckling, “Shoope is Poop!”  The logo only bolsters this unfair moniker by having the “p” deficate some mysterious pile of goo.  What’s up with that?

Now I am pretty sure that this is not the case due to the caliber of people involved on the project.  Scott Cate and Rob Howard seem to be very intelligent guys, and I am sure they have teamed up with some other really talented developers for this new concept.  So why do I get a SQL timeout every time I try to see what they’re up to?  Is it the overwhelming popularity of the announcement on .NET Rocks?  Cate opened up the beta testing to the first 5000 listeners that registered with code “DNR” on the website. 

So what is Shoope?  It is an online data store that put’s your data “in the cloud” for access and sharing anywhere.  They provide a set of dynamic services that allow you to access, modify, and search across your data.  I haven’t been able to find out much else online as things seem to be just out of the gate with the beta testing.  My efforts to try out the beta will continue as traffic hopefully dies down, but I haven’t been able to determine much else about it at this point. 

I can appreciate the volume of traffic that anything mentioned as free on DNR would generate.  After all, I don’t even have a use case for Couldn’t get in over a span of 10 hoursShoope I just wanted to see what it was all about.  Nonetheless, I was underwhelmed by the fact that they didn’t either anticipate that volume of traffic or even handle it once the site started cratering.  The thought of throwing your data out “into the cloud” is a discomforting one, and this doesn’t do much in the way of building warm fuzzies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

